VoIP hardware is developing fast - this is where you ask all those “how do I make my SIP Telephone, Adapter or Asterisk box work with my voip provider?” questions.
Hello, I'm very new to this, so I need an idiots guide.

I have managed to setup my various Snom D715 phones by using the handy Voipfone setup wizard, but there is nothing similar for the M325 bundle that arrived today.

I have got as far as registering the handset with the base station, updating the firmware on the base station and trying to create a new server and extension (which resulted in a SIP error) . But I am really out of my depth with this. Does anyone have a walkthrough that I could follow?

I have Googled for the solution, and found a this website which mentions provisioning using plug and play, but I don't think Voipfone supports this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Hi,

As written here: WelshPaul @ Snom M700 & M300 - Voipfone Configuration

Log in to the Snom M300's web based GUI by entering it's IP address into your web browser and select "Servers" in the list located on the left hand side of the page and set the following:

Server Alias: Voipfone (can be anything really)
Registrar: sip.voipfone.net
Outbound Proxy: sip.voipfone.net
Conference Server: sip.voipfone.net
Registration time: 60

Click the "Save" button located on the bottom of the page.

For the record: You probably don't need to enter anything in the "Outbound Proxy" or "Conference Server" fields, for now configure them as above.

Moving on... Next you have to setup an Extension, do so by select "Extensions" in the list located on the left hand side of the page and set the following:

Handset: Select the Snom handset you want to use with this extension!
Extension: Your user ID starting 30 and consisting of 8 digits. E.g. 30100000 [for PBX users enter user ID with *200 at the end, where your extension is 200. E.g. 30100000*200]