VoIP hardware is developing fast - this is where you ask all those “how do I make my SIP Telephone, Adapter or Asterisk box work with my voip provider?” questions.
By Hamal
Hello, can anyone help me with a problem of IP phone SIP configuration. I have no experience of telecoms and I am hoping you can assist.

Having successfully re-programmed a Cisco 7940 IP phone from SCCP to 3.8.12 SIP for use at home, I acquired a another unit for a family member.

This second unit is already programmed with the same version of SIP firmware so I assumed I could simply reuse the same two SIP configuration files (SIPMAC.cnf and SIPDefault.cnf) with the necessary adjustments (changed MAC address etc.) to configure it. I therefore removed four files from the tftpboot directory leaving the only the above two mentioned files.

This unit was connected to the same Windows XP netbook running the same TFTP server as my first successful flashing – but I am having no success at all with the second unit.

Can you advise as to whether I have made the correct assumptions.

Contents of tftpboot directory
SIPMACAddress.cnf
SIPDefault.cnf

Files removed from tftpboot directory
OS79XX.TXT
POS3-8-12-00.loads
POS3-8-12-00.sbc
POS3-8-12-00.bin
POS3-8-12-00.sbin

Regards
By GoofyCyborg
Afternoon Hamal,

Have you checked the logs to see if the phone is requesting and receiving the files? I assume you have edited the SIPmacaddress.cnf file with the correct values otherwise both phones will attempt to register with the same VoIP/Sip account?

Could always try a full factory reset. The Cisco 79xx series are not my area of expertise sadly but if the above don't work maybe WelshPaul can help?
By WelshPaul
Cisco has stated that they will not continue to develop SIP software for the Cisco line of phones, so my recommendation is not to invest in a Cisco phone for use with VoIP.