VoIP hardware is developing fast - this is where you ask all those “how do I make my SIP Telephone, Adapter or Asterisk box work with my voip provider?” questions.

Advertisement

By Sponsor
By chelsknits
I'm just beginning with VoIP and as far as I know, I have nothing to actively start using it. What hardware do you need when you're just starting out and how much does it cost? Also, I checked out the phone setup forum and realized they're all names I've never even heard of. What brand of phone would you suggest for a beginner?

Advertisement

By Sponsor
By WelshPaul
chelsknits wrote:I'm just beginning with VoIP and as far as I know, I have nothing to actively start using it. What hardware do you need when you're just starting out and how much does it cost? Also, I checked out the phone setup forum and realized they're all names I've never even heard of. What brand of phone would you suggest for a beginner?
Hi chelsknits,

All you really need is one of these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005FSTM0G/r ... EJ2A6RCCJE
You take any traditional corded telephone or DECT telephone and plug it into the back of the OBi100 in the link above and then use an ethernet cable to connect the OBi100 to your router. You have everything you need hardware wise to use VoIP. :thumbsup:

Handy for a second phone line or as a replacement for your main land line as long as you have an active broadband connection. :)
By chelsknits
WelshPaul wrote: Hi chelsknits,

All you really need is one of these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005FSTM0G/r ... EJ2A6RCCJE
You take any traditional corded telephone or DECT telephone and plug it into the back of the OBi100 in the link above and then use an ethernet cable to connect the OBi100 to your router. You have everything you need hardware wise to use VoIP. :thumbsup:

Handy for a second phone line or as a replacement for your main land line as long as you have an active broadband connection. :)