Get help with installing, upgrading and running a PBX such as Asterisk.
By SubZ87
Hey guys....

I'd like to try setting up Asterisk on a Raspberry Pi as an Automated Attendant to screen and log calls for me.
I found your reference Paul, thanks; RasPBX Setup and Configurational Notes
I also found a blog post at https://www.wrbishop.com/telecom/end-ro ... -asterisk/.
In the above blog it recommends using an OBi110, which to me seems fit for the job. However, can you think of any reason why I should rather get an OBi202 with FXO to USB Phone Line Adapter? If I don't need it then the OBi110 solution is cheaper.

The OBi FAQ had a helpful post; What is the difference between the OBi202, OBi100, and OBi110?
By WelshPaul
Good Morning,

I have been running RasPBX myself now for several months, works very well. I just replaced my Raspberry PI B board for the B+ model as it is 30% more energy efficient! :D Can be a real money saver! :clap:

I was paying £9.60 a month to Voipfone for three extensions, one UK geographical number and call barring. Between my OBi202 and RasPBX I now pay just £2.40 a month. :thumbsup:

Anyway... Nothing wrong with the 1xx series ATA's, if it does everything you require then why spend any more right? I will say this though, there hasn't been any firmware updates on the 1xx series for a while now! So no new features are likely to be added, there are no known bugs in the latest firmware as far as I know so it should be rock solid stability wise.

The 2xx series as you know does cost more but... you can however do more with it configuration wise. What you need to find out is will you want or need these extra configurations. Even the simple things like being able to adjust the length of time the device pauses before dialling a number not matched to any dialplan string is handy! The default is 10 seconds which can feel like forever when waiting for a call to connect.