Discuss, review and recommend UK broadband internet services from providers such as BT, Virgin Media and Sky here.
By kaiuk
Has anyone tried WiMax broadband? It is only available in parts of the UK but the concept seems to be really good. Imagine being able to walk around anywhere and get fast broadband on your devices.

4G is pricey and if you're using a laptop then you might need to do some kind of hookup with your phone in order to make it work. I find USB dongles to be really slow, not sure about ones with built-in SIM options but i'm sure those are better.

Haven't tried WiMax yet but often wondered why it never really took off.
By Johnderman
WiMax is really popular where I live, I used to be an installer for Alvarion, Motorola Canopy, and Ubiquiti equipment. You just need a link antenna up every few miles on a tower or high building somewhere and you can serve a huge area. I don't know why it's not used more in the UK, it would be a very cost effective way to set up high speed internet on interstates and in metro areas.
By kaiuk
I thought it would be a good business in built up areas. It is easier to put up an antenna than it is to dig a huge trench on a public pathway in order to lay some cables, and then make good again afterwards.

I never looked at the pricing as i don't recall being given the option to sign up. I suppose there are a lot of competing ISPs all offering high speed cabled internet so WiMax would be hard to market. Might have an issue with downloaders as well hogging all the bandwidth!
By sbatz1972