Discuss, review and recommend UK broadband internet services from providers such as BT, Virgin Media and Sky here.
100 %
By davep123
Hi All,

Newbie here

I'm looking for some advise please.
I'm considering ending the line rental for my home but take the number and have it hosted/ported by a voip provider
maybe sipgate basic.

Also switch my broadband to virgin media so no line required.
use the existing phones, and get some sort of adapter to convert the cable connections

I'd welcome feedback from anybody in the uk has done the above & can let me know how it has worked out.

regards

Dave
By WelshPaul
Hi Dave,

I have been doing what your asking for years. Currently have Virgin Media Vivid 150MB stand alone broadband that currently costs me £31.24 (I have a £7 loyalty discount) a month.

This should help regarding porting your number to sipgate: https://basichelp.sipgate.co.uk/hc/en-g ... gate-basic

All you need is a VoIP ATA, a Cisco SPA112 or OBi100 will suffice. The VM super hub(s) that virgin supply are not the best, you might need to put it in modem mode and use a third party router with it. There is a know issue with the super hub 3: http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/20 ... y-bug.html
By davep123
Paul,

Thanks for the reply.
A virgin rep visited my home today to see how he could help. VM can port my number & the VM rep checked and has confirmed VM can host the number themselves, so might not need sipgate.
Ive been looking at the VM superhub 3.0 on youtube which confirms as you say is not upto much. but I have a ASUS DSL-AC68U router which I can utilise and set the VM hub 3 to modem mode.

I just hope by doing this to the hub 3 it wont disable the 2 ports for the phone.

just looking for discounts on virgin now. I'm likely to go for the SuperFibre 50 to start with, and upgrade if required.

Dave
By WelshPaul