If it's about VoIP, SIP or Internet Telephony but it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, post it here.
By PaulRB
Hi All, I need some general advice please. I am new to the world of VoIP at home.

Apologies for this long and rambling tale. Please bear with me...

My Panasonic DECT home phones (x4) are starting to go faulty. Also, having my house extended means that in a new room I can't get DECT reception because the signal must pass through two thick stone walls.

So I have been window shopping for replacements, looking at DECT 3 x handset sets with a DECT repeater which I could place to boost the signal into the new part of the house. I can spend as little as £135 for cheap Panasonic sets or more than double that for hopefully better quality Gigaset ones with landline and VoIP cabability.

But it all seems a bit old-fashioned. We have Android smartphones & tablets in the house. Can't I use them in some way to make & receive landline calls, I wondered? (Mobile signal inside the house is pretty useless, due to the rural location and those thick stone walls).

I don't currently have a VoIP account, but might consider it. The main reason is that I don't currently have broadband over the landline. Because of the rural location, conventional ADSL just won't work (confirmed by OpenReach engineers visiting the property). Currently my internet connection is via a 4G router connected to an antenna on the roof of the house. This works quite well, but there is a monthly data limit. So I didn't want to use that up with VoIP data, and have stuck to using the landline for calls. Maybe VoIP does not use much data and I should not worry about that. Please advise.