If it's about VoIP, SIP or Internet Telephony but it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, post it here.
Hi all, newbie here struggling to get his head around moving a longstanding landline number to VOIP.

The scenario is that we hardly ever use our landline for making calls, but still receive quite a few calls as we have had the same landline number for 25 years so it is well known by many friends and businesses.

What I would like to do is port this existing landline number to SIPGate so I can continue to receive inbound calls on the old number and make a limited number cost effective outbound calls. Doing this paves the way for a possible medium to long term move away from having a landline completely. (I am looking at WISP or 5G providers for my broadband).

But as I understand it, if I submit a request to get the landline number ported from Plusnet to SIPGate, this will result in Plusnet cancelling my combined broadband/phone contract. Is this the case? I can't seem to get an answer from Plusnet on this.

Is there a way around this and what sequence of steps would be needed? Has anyone faced a similar scenario and found a solution?

Thanks in advance for any enlightenment!!
lohr500 wrote:
Mon 2nd Mar 2020, 17:39
if I submit a request to get the landline number ported from Plusnet to SIPGate, this will result in Plusnet cancelling my combined broadband/phone contract. Is this the case?
Plusnet will indeed cancel your broadband service along with your landline if you were to port your Plusnet landline number to any other telecoms provider. :pensive:
I feared as much.

So the next question is this :

What happens to the line if you cancel a landline based service and then try to set up a new service with a different provider?
Where does the old line get terminated and who can plug it back in, so to speak?
Would I get charged a full Openreach line install fee
Hi @lohr500 and welcome to the forums.