If it's about VoIP, SIP or Internet Telephony but it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, post it here.
By VOIPNovice1
Posts Avatar Topics
Hi,

I'm hoping someone can help me with a problem I'm having calling out from my Sipgate Basic account.

I'm new to setting up anything VOIP related but everything seemed to be going ok in the early stages.

I bought a Grandstream HT801 adaptor, set up a Sipgate Basic account, added funds to it and had Virgin port my number to them.

I can now receive incoming calls to my old number and that works fine.

If I dial the Sipgate test numbers (10000, 10005 & 100020) they all operate ok but the 10000 number tells me I need to add credit to my account (I don't know if that's a standard message everyone gets or if it believes I need to?).

Whenever I try to dial out to any other number (Landline, mobile, 0800), I just get the engaged tone.

I've emailed Sipgate for help but they've not assisted me so far, I've had an email back telling me they're short-staffed, then an email asking me to attempt more calls so they have fresh data to work with (which I've done) and an email telling me they've reset some stuff on the account (which did overcome a different problem with the account which had stopped me adding more credit but didn't help with the dialling.

They've yet to respond to the last couple of emails I sent them earlier in the week!

Just to be clear, I initally put £40 of credit on the account to ensure I had enough to cover the £30 porting fee. I tried to add another £10 but the account wouldn't let me add any more until they're 'reset' of things. This now allowed me to add another £10, so I currently have £20 of credit on the account, which they confirmed is enough for me to make calls.

I'm stick for where to go with this now short of porting my number again to a different provider and seeing of their service works better.