If it's about VoIP, SIP or Internet Telephony but it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, post it here.
By phoneuser
I am new to VOIP and need some help! Have purchased a geographic number and also have an extenstion (not sure what this is used for but was told I needed one!) What I want to do is receive calls on the geo number (currently pointed at my BT landline) and to be able to transfer the caller to an external number. I understand that I need a VOIP handset to do this. Current set up is BT home hub in hallway connects to wireless desktop in office (through another room). I am presuming that the VOIP handset has to have wired connection to the router (is this my home hub?) which is located in the hallway, not in the office, causing me issues with how do I answer the calls when in the office? Additionally, the softphone software that I downloaded at the start of the whole process does not work - I am not able to uninstall it (error message says that the software is running and cannot complete uninstallation) and Voipfone have not been very helpful, telling me that I probably just need to reboot my PC (been there, done that!) and providing a link to the softphone set up process. If anyone can help with any of above, thanks in advance.
By WelshPaul
You surprise me, Voipfone offer the best support of all the companies I have done business with.

That said do you mean that you want your new VoIP number to divert all calls that come in to it directly to another landline or mobile? If so you don't need any equipment at all. See: http://www.voipfone.co.uk/Call_Forwardi ... Divert.php

Or do you mean that you want to answer the calls on a VoIP telephone then send them to another ordinary phone if necessary. In this case you use the call transfer method used by your telephone - often a transfer button.